Silicon Valley Study Tour

Here we are!

This is the Forum for the attendees of Catania Univesity to get the chance to attend to the Silicon Valley Study Tour 2016- august 22-26.

Discuss the attached articles, tell your thinking, share yr ideas and links.

Within June 5th we'll ask for your Cv...and will judge the best to come with us!

http://mashable.com/2015/10/09/elon-musk-tesla-apple/#Zj41V_OCLGqx  

http://singularityhub.com/2015/10/26/12-industries-disrupted-by-tec...    

Views: 927

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Hi there! I'm very glad to be the first to write in this section and I want to thank Mr. Marenco for this amazing opportunity and the very interesting article to discuss about.

First of all, let me briefly introduce myself. I'm a Computer Engineering student and I have fallen in love with computers since I was 8, when I started to use my first PC. So, simply having the chance to visit Silicon Valley is a dream for me!

Now let's talk about the article.

Although I'm really fascinated by the wave of innovation in all those sectors, I want to ask the following question:
Don't you think we, as society, are disrupting the "wrong" fields?

What I currently see is that almost every big tech company of our world is focusing all its attention and its efforts on many non-essential things.
In my opinion there is other more important stuff we would need to start disrupting seriously. I mean things like bigotry, cancer, clean water, climate change, homelessness, hunger, poverty, refugee crisis, which could benefit of some kind of tech solution. I think we are spending our brainpower, our money and our time on the wrong category of issues.
Maybe we have to put our best in these problems that really affect our world nowadays. Maybe we have to put back humanity at the center of our thoughts, instead of trying to replace humans in all possible ways.