Silicon Valley Study Tour

Here we are, ready to start the challenge for SVST 2016, end of August.

I give you a first topic to discuss :

http://playbook.samaltman.com/

tell here your thinking!

Views: 790

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Thanks for the beautiful article Paolo! Unfortunately I did not have the chance to come to the first conference but I hope I will have a nice exchange of ideas with the other friends of the SVST 2016 (at least "remotely") here in this discussion. Maybe someone who attended the first conference wants to quickly sum it up for me?

By the way my name is Romeo and I am a PhD student in robotics at Istituto Italiano di Tecnologia in Genova. :)

What I liked the most of the "startup playbook" is the part relative to hiring and managing a group of employees. Even from my little experience I can tell that the working group is the key for success (it might be even more important that the product itself in the early stages) and that if your co-workers don't have those "care" & "kick butt" qualities then your product is not going to develop at all. For this reason I loved the statement: "don't compromise on the quality of the people you hire".

But in my opinion the biggest challenge is the people managing part: I am personally very self-confident about what goal I want to achieve and where I am going, but in the same time i am a bad motivator for the other people. For this reason I sometimes end up working on some project completely alone, which is doomed to fail because I can't obviously do everything on my own.

I want to improve this skill of mine so I would like to ask if anyone has ever faced the same problem and made something to improve himself (for example by training public speaking or exercising to defend two opposite ideas). Could an acting class be a good idea? :)

I hope I did not go off-topic and look forward to your feedbacks!